Jockeys' Association

The NZ Jockeys' Association represents the interests of New Zealand's 220 Jockeys, which consists of Amateur Riders, Apprentice Jockeys, and Jumps’ Jockeys.

Benefits of Membership

  • Regular liaison with New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing
  • Regular liaison with the New Zealand Racing Board
  • Representation on the Equine Training Council and the Advisory Council
  • Contact with all Racing Clubs
  • Regular newsletters that will keep you up to date and informed of the activities of the Association and the Racing industry
  • On and Off course promotions for Jockeys
  • A Racing Calendar Diary which will be directly posted to you. The Diary covers all Race Meetings for the season and contains all the addresses and telephone numbers of Jockeys and Trainers
  • Complimentary Spouse Badge entitling course and stand admission for partners
  • Regular meetings, and social events throughout the year
  • An organized, operational and enthusiastic Association

Contact details

National President:
Dave Taylor
P.O. Box 178
M: 0274 930 653
F: 07 348 7696

New Zealand Trainers Association

NZ Trainers AssociationThe NZ Trainers’ Association is made up of six regional branches: Northern, Taranaki, Central Districts, Canterbury-Westland, Otago and Southland.

The National Executive comprises the National President, six branch Presidents, the past-President, the NZTR Board representative and past NZTR Board representative.Regional matters are managed by the relevant Branch President in conjunction with the Executive Officer if deemed necessary, while national issues are handled by the National President and Executive Officer.

As a recognised racing industry organisation, the NZTA is invited to make submissions on those issues that may affect its members.

Current executive are as follows:

National President: Tony Pike
National Vice President: Nigel Tiley
National Vice President/Canterbury Branch President: Michael Pitman
Northern Branch President: Chad Ormsby
Northern Branch Vice President: Jason Bridgeman
Central Districts President: Gary Vile
Taranaki Representative: John Wheeler
Southern Branch President: Sally McKay
Otago sub-branch President: Murray Hamilton

Executive Officer:

Wendy Cooper T: 09 412 6225
NZTA M: 021 927 776
PO Box 300-073 F: 09 412 6125
Albany 0752

New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders Association


The history of thoroughbred breeding in New Zealand goes back to the middle of the nineteenth century when people such as Henry Redwood, "father of the New Zealand turf", bred, raced and imported thoroughbreds and began the proud Kiwi tradition of raiding Australia's major races. The first National Yearling Sale was held in January 1927 and the first meeting of people interested in forming a breeders' association took place in January 1948. At that time a provisional Council was set up consisting of several of the country's leading breeders: Messrs Ken Austin (Chairman), Bob Stead, J.G. Alexander, James Fletcher, J. Donald, Jack Higgs, Charles Robertson and Alister Williams.   This committee then set about contacting people likely to be interested in forming an association of breeders. The response to their canvassing efforts was remarkable, with responses from almost 500 people. 

The first general meeting of the NZTBA was held in Wellington on 16 March 1948 and a full-time secretary, Mr L.R. James of Wellington was appointed, beginning work on October 1st 1948. The first annual meeting of the NZTBA was held on 25 January 1949 in Wellington. Mr Ken Austin presided over the meeting and gave a comprehensive description of the purpose of the Association. His words still guide the NZTBA's activities today:   'to encourage, promote, advance generally and ensure co-operative efforts in all matters pertaining to the production and improvement of the Thoroughbred and the interests of Thoroughbred breeders.' By 31 July 1949 the Association had 460 financial members and 140 applications for membership. The annual subscription was two guineas.

On 8 February 1998 the NZTBA celebrated its 50th birthday with a memorable luncheon at Patrick and Justine Hogan's Cambridge Stud.

Today the Association is based at Ellerslie Racecourse, Auckland in offices funded by members and opened by the NZTBA's Patron, Her Majesty The Queen, on 5 February 1990. 
The current annual subscription is $NZ165.00 and the Association's membership stands at approximately 2000, spread among eight regional branches, the Studmaster branch and overseas members.
We warmly welcome new members from New Zealand and around the world. 

To find out more about the history of the NZTBA click here

New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association
Private Bag 99908
New Zealand

 For more information about NZTBA membership please email  or Ph: (64 9) 525 2428.

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Federation

The Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Federation seeks to:

  • Act as an effective independent representative body for thoroughbred racehorse owners in New Zealand.
  • Consider industry issues and provide industry input and advocacy from a racehorse owners’ perspective – via its NZTR Board Representative.
  • Identify opportunities to enhance an owner’s industry involvement (financial, social, knowledge, enjoyment, satisfaction) and actively draw these opportunities to the attention of appropriate industry participants (e.g. NZTR, clubs, trainers and jockeys).
  • Support the ongoing publication of relevant information and articles of interest to the community of thoroughbred racehorse owners.
  • Provide existing and new members with quality information and assistance.
  • Improve the attractiveness of the industry to potential new owners and assist retain the existing ownership base.
  • Facilitate consultation with regional associations and provide a central conduit through which delegates can promote owner related initiatives and submissions.

National Federation 
Neil Oldfield 

Jim Keyte
0800 OWNERS (696-377)

Owners delegate on the NZTR Members Council
Neil Oldfield

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Federation, P O Box 14027, Hamilton 3252