Horse Of The Year Awards

Thank you for joining us to honour and celebrate our 2017 top achievers!

It was an exciting year for our people and horses and we had a fantastic evening celebrating their success at the 2017 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards.

We will continue to keep this page updated with details of the 2018 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards and do hope you can join us.

Click here to see the 2017 finalists and winners
Click here
to see the 2017 voting panel

About the Awards

The Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards are New Zealand racing’s most prestigious and glamorous occasion, a celebration of success and excellence where racing’s biggest stars gather.  Featuring more than 20 awards, culminating with the coveted “Thoroughbred Horse of the Year”, the evening also includes fabulous entertainment, top quality wines and delicious cuisine.

The Thoroughbred Racing Awards were first held in 1991 and are held annually to recognise New Zealand's top performers, both equine and human, over the previous racing season. Each winner receives a beautiful bronze trophy designed by the internationally renowned sculptor, Gerrard McCabe.